Martin H. Greenberg

Liberty is a recurring theme in science fiction. This volume explores this theme, combining landmark stories from science fiction’s golden age with new stories:

Give Me Liberty – (2003) – Martin H. Greenberg and Mark Tier
Visions of Liberty – (2004) – Martin H. Greenberg and Mark Tier
…And Then There Were None – (1951) – Eric Frank Russell
Committee of the Whole – (1965) – Frank Herbert
Gadget vs. Trend – (1962) – Christopher Anvil
Historical Note – (1951) – Murray Leinster
Monument – (1961) – Lloyd Biggle, Jr.
Second Game – (1958) – Katherine MacLean and Charles V. De Vet
The Ungoverned – (1985) – Vernor Vinge
The Weapon Shop – (1942) – A. E. van Vogt

Freedom! book cover

Some of these were interesting, though the lack of government as a concept in fiction is one I’ve rarely thought about. I enjoyed Monument, Historical Note and the weapon shop, Second Game and Pakeha.

Published by Sean Randall

I am an avid reader, technologist and disability advocate living in the middle of England with my wife, daughter and pets.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *